To instruct candidates on correctly determining their roles and responsibilities when undertaking the duties of a Level Crossing Attendant. This person must hold a valid IWA or COSS competency. This course is designed to give candidates the knowledge and understanding of the duties of the Level Crossing Attendant. LXA is a 1- day classroom-based course on how to correctly identify and operate a Level Crossing on the Network Rail Managed Infrastructure. This course is for people whose job role will at some point require them to take local control of a Level Crossing for several different reasons.

Course Objectives

  • Welcome & Introduction
  • Aims and Objectives
  • Level Crossing Types
  • Duties
  • Operation
  • Theory Assessment
  • Practical Assessment
  • Post course objectives

Course Prerequisites

  • Delegates must hold a valid Sentinel Card endorsed with a Valid COSS/IWA competence
  • Candidates must hold a valid Medical and Drugs and Alcohol certificate issued by Network Rail
  • Candidates must have a good command of the English language
  • Candidates must be primary sponsored

Course Outcome

Successful candidates will be notified to sentinel as being trained and assessed as competent and their sentinel card will be endorsed AOD - (LXA). This competence will be valid for two years. To recertify candidates must ensure they complete a minimum of four shifts and record them in their work experience book – issued by Seaton Rail.


1 day

Recent successes